Posted in Author, blog, Book, Fiction, Humor, Romance, Womens Fiction, Writer

This weeks guest on the Author’s blog is Stacy Hoff with her new release ‘Jockeying For You’.

Today my guest on the Authors Blog is a lovely and very talented lady, Stacy Hoff. She is here today to give us a sneak peak into her new novel ‘Jockeying For You’.

jockeyingforyou1800

Book Blurb

Jake Carter is on a mission—to prove his family wrong. He may have bought a troubled horse, but he’s hired Ryder Hannon, a “horse whisperer,” to get his horse back on track.  She’s more than just a trainer to him, she’s the woman he’s been looking for.

Ryder Hannon, a thoroughbred horse trainer, has a big problem—fighting her fear of racing again. Her emotional scars run deeper than her physical ones. But her romantic feelings towards handsome, uber-rich, stable owner Jake Carter is a bigger problem.  Is Jake truly in love with her or is he using her to get back at his smug family? ­

When Jake’s jockey gets injured, he wants Ryder to race. He knows deep down she wants to live up to her family’s legacy. So why does she keep fighting him—and her destiny—so hard?

What motivates an author

Tracey A. Wood asked me to write about what motivates me. I had never thought about this question before. I have always written stories as a compulsion, never giving much thought to why I was writing in the first place.

I have always been a creative individual. Even as a kid I was active in the arts, and wrote stories as well. For me, the creative process is a large part of who I am. I find happiness by picking up a paintbrush or a pen. I rarely give thought to starting a project—it’s just something I naturally do.

The hard part is when I’m trying to not only to please myself, but to please others as well. It’s here when standards are imposed and craft skills must kick in. It makes me function on two levels—both as the creative and the critic.

Lately I’ve devoted way more time to writing than art. Functioning at my highest level of ability takes a lot of time and effort. It’s a good thing I deeply enjoy the creative process; I can see why some authors get burned out living up to this high standard.

So long as I balance my writing with the other responsibilities in my life (being a mom, wife, and full-time lawyer) I stay motivated, and I’m grateful for that. Because it’s much better to work with my muse than to fight it.

What motivates you?

Wow, Thank you for that insite in what motivates you Stacy. 

If you wold like to read more of ‘Jockeying For You’. Here is an excerpt.

Mindy shot out, “Wow. Check out Mr. Gorgeous.”
Ryder’s brow wrinkled. She didn’t know any horse by the name of “Mr. Gorgeous.”
Ryder turned to peer down the path and quickly realized Mindy was referring to a man. Jake. He was, however, leading a horse that had to be the animal equivalent of a gorgeous man. In fact, both males truly were stunning. “The man is Jake Carter. The horse is Handsome Dancer. Mr. Carter wants me to check him out for possible training.”
Mindy burst out laughing. “Training which one of those studs? I hope for your sake it’s the man.”
Ryder bit back a burst of laughter. Sure, Mindy was funny but laughing like a lunatic would not portray her as a professional when Jake arrived.
“Better yet,” Mindy continued with a wicked grin, “forget you, I’m willing to take Jake Carter for a ride.”
“Mindy, cut it out, will you? This is business.” Ryder frowned. “And that was way too much information anyway.”
Mindy laughed harder. “Hey, you asked.”
“I didn’t ask,” Ryder shot back, crossing her arms over her chest. “Are you going to act crazy around him or will you pretend to be a normal person?”
Lenny suddenly appeared from a stall so quietly Ryder jumped in surprise. “Act normal around who?”
“Lenny! Stop popping up like that,” Ryder protested. “Why don’t you ever say when you’re in the stall next to us?”
Mindy squinted at him. “How is it you don’t make any noise?” she accused. “I swear, you’re more ghost than guy.”
Lenny grew taller and puffed out his chest like a rooster. “I don’t need to explain myself to you, missy. I’m old enough to be your father.”
“And you’re short and sneak up on people.” Mindy put her hands on her hips. “You’re a leprechaun. Admit it.”
Red smoke was going to come out of his ears. Just as soon as his face finished morphing into a tomato.
“She’s only kidding,” Ryder hastily said, putting a hand on him. “Mindy’s a real joker today.”
She could see Lenny taking a deep breath in an obvious attempt to calm down. “You ladies didn’t answer my question. I asked who you’re supposed to act normal around.”
Mindy gestured to the fast-approaching Jake Carter. “Him,” she answered, not waiting for Ryder to respond.
“That’s Mr. Carter all right,” Lenny said. “A man with a whole lot of horses and a lot of influence on racing. Get lost, Mindy, will you? Ryder and I have some business to do.”
Mindy laughed, waved, then disappeared somewhere down the long line of stalls. “We’ll talk later, Ryder. See ya tomorrow. And you’d better spill all the details.”

To get your copy of ‘Jockeying for You’. Click on the link below.

Amazon

If you would like to find out more, about Stacy Hoff. You can find her on the below links.

Amazon Author page

Twitter

Facebook

Other books by Stacy Hoff

Thank you Stacy and good luck with the new book.

 

Also look out for:

Midnight Angel – Book one of the Council series by Tracey A Wood

img_0034

Available on Ebook and Paperback.

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Author:

Tracey A Wood is a new exciting author of Paranormal suspense, Romance and Urban Fantasy novels with a captivating twist

2 thoughts on “This weeks guest on the Author’s blog is Stacy Hoff with her new release ‘Jockeying For You’.

Leave a Reply

