Posted in #Book, Adult, Author, Bewitching Book Tours, blog, Book, Fiction, Sex, Tour, Violence, Writer

Barry by L.M. Pruitt – Book Tour

03/03/17

 


Barry

Winged

Book 14

L.M. Pruitt

Print Length: 186 pages
Publisher: SP Press
Publication Date: January 14, 2017
ASIN: B01N22VUWH
A standalone novel in the world of the international bestselling WINGED series… a glimpse in to one man’s past….
It was supposed to be a simple dinner. The repayment of a debt.
I should have known Lilith would find a way to make things difficult.
Three favors. Three stories of lovers past. As Lilith said, an easy task.
I remember them all.
WARNING: THIS BOOK CONTAINS GRAPHIC LANGUAGE AND GRAPHIC SEX SCENES. READER DISCRETION IS ADVISED

Excerpt:

I leaned back,
unfolding my napkin and draping it over my lap. “So, what sort of delicacy is
on the menu this evening?”
“Oh, who knows.
I leave those sort of things to the kitchen.” Lilith waved a hand absently,
brushing the question aside as if it was no more than a fly. “It’s time for you
to pay your debt.”
“And I’m here.”
“Baraquel.” Her
smile was the sort usually reserved for cute animals and slow adults. “Did you
really think a simple dinner would be all the repayment I required?”
“Not really but
I was foolish enough to hope.” Sighing, I pulled a cigar from my coat pocket
and examined the tip. “How, then, am I supposed to repay you?”
“Three favors,
correct?” Her smile grew when I nodded. “Wonderful. Three stories, then.”
“I beg your
pardon?” I winced, shaking my head as she laughed. “Remind me to limit my time
around Joanne. I’m picking up too many of her verbal ticks for my liking.”
“If it helps,
think of this as more of a series of lectures on the right and wrong way to
conduct relationships.” She propped her elbows on the table, steepling her
fingers as she stared at me with the sort of fascination I’d seen on cats in
the instant before they pounced. “After all, you have so much advice to offer.
It would be a shame to let it go to waste.”
“My personal
life is my own.” I set the cigar down, hating the stiffness in my voice and yet
unable to do anything to correct it. “You’ve known me long enough to know
that.”
“And I’m not
asking for a rundown of every person you’ve fucked in the last few millennia.”
Her smile widened, the edges turning cruel. “Besides, even if I did, I doubt
you could provide one.”
“I remember.”
“Do you?”
“Yes.” I
clenched my fist in my lap. “I remember them all.”
“Good.” She
tapped her fingers on her lower lip. “Then tell me a story.”

 

About the Author:

 
L.M. Pruitt has been reading and writing for as long as she can remember. A native of Florida with a love of New Orleans, she has the uncanny ability to find humor in most things and would probably kill a plastic plant. She knows this because she’s killed bamboo. Twice.  She is the author of the Winged series, the Plaisir Coupable series, Jude Magdalyn series, the Moon Rising series, and Taken: A Frankie Post Novel.
 

Guest Post

A Typical Week

A lot of people like to think a writer’s life is, for lack of a better word, awesome. I mean, you get to spend the day playing with your imaginary friends, researching cool and interesting things, and telling fantastic stories.

However, there is a reason a famous writer compared the act of writing to opening your veins and letting the blood spill out.

Four days a week, I wake up at around six thirty in the morning. After stumbling around for a bit, I manage to make myself presentable enough to go out in public and not scare small children. I settle in for my morning commute, which takes all of three minutes—five when there’s traffic. And then I’m at my office, i.e., a local coffee shop.

Coffee shops are interesting first thing in the morning. They’re just quiet enough to allow for concentration but they also have enough background noise to keep your mind from wandering completely. There’s a great mix of people who are stumbling in, desperate for coffee, and those who have clearly already had more than their fair share and are now ready to conquer the world. I have a great deal of sympathy for those in the first group because despite the fact I can wake up early and at almost any time, I am by no means happy about it.

After a quick infusion of caffeine and a bagel—one of my few weaknesses—I settle in for a few hours of writing. This generally involves periods of typing, periods of staring out the window at the lake, and periods of reading news and taking quizzes on my phone. Sometimes if I’m in the zone I can write for two or three hours straight but I usually only have the concentration for about sixty minutes at a time. Breaking between major scenes or chapters allows time for things to process and for the characters to let me know which way things need to go.

With the largest portion of my daily writing out of the day, I head back to my house, i.e., my other office, where I spend a few hours writings posts such as this one, looking for stock photos for covers, brainstorming, and doing a few dozen of the hundreds of little things which keep me occupied. Then it’s time for lunch and a quick nap.

And then, at least two days of the week, it’s time for the day job.

The two days I don’t get sell my soul to the service industry I continue writing off and on throughout the evening. I may work on some crochet projects, usually blankets or scarves, and watch some Netflix but nothing too exciting.

The other three days operate are essentially flipped—I work at the day job in the actual day and try and find the energy to crank out words at night. The only day I don’t write is Sunday, mostly because by that point I’m exhausted and, well, it would interfere with my drinking.

And then come Monday it starts all over again—but I wouldn’t change a thing.

Well, as far as the writing goes.

Posted in #Book, Author, blog, Book, Fiction, Romance, suspense, Tour, Writer

Dirty Deeds by A J Nuest – Book Tour + #Giveaway

03/03/17

*
DIRTY DEEDS
by AJ Nuest
*
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Pub Date: 1/31/2017
*
*
An Eye for an Eye
As owner of Dirty Deeds, a tech-savvy company
specializing in the age-old art of revenge, Eden Smith knows
first-hand that secrecy is critical. But when a dead body washes up
on the shores of Lake Michigan clutching her business card, Eden’s
well-constructed world begins to fall apart. Apparently, she’s not
the only one with a passion for payback, and staying alive to
outsmart a killer has become her most important job of all.
A Game for a Game
Hardened homicide detective Kelly Riordan is
convinced Eden Smith is hiding more than she’s willing to admit.
Years on the force have taught him that nothing is what it seems, and
that couldn’t be truer than when it comes to investigating the
alluring owner of a revenge-for-hire business. But revealing her past
could put everything Eden has worked for in jeopardy. And trusting a
man like Riordan goes against the very instincts that have kept her
alive this long.
*
*
*
*
Multi-published, award-winning author and editor AJ Nuest resides
in Northwest Indiana with her loving husband, two beautiful children,
and a bevy of spoiled pets. Her four-part serial fantasy romance, The
Golden Key Chronicles
, was recently named the RONE Time Travel
Romance of 2015 by InD’tale Magazine, and her contemporary romantic
comedy, She’s Got Dibs, won First Place in the Heartland Romance Author’s
Show Me the Spark! Contest, 2013. For more please visit her
*
 *
*
*
 *